Sweden is European Champion of Optimistic Team Racing.

The Swedish team after 207 matches was able to conquer the European title, leaving behind Turkey and Germany, thus winning the Cassa Rurale di Ledro trophy.

All the young european sailors have proved to be very prepared, correct and polite, making all the races of very high technical level.

The Italian team did not manage to defend the last year’s title, so  Edoardo Bocale, Lorenzo Pezzilli (Circolo Vela Ravennate) Claudia Quaranta (Circolo Vela Bari) and Malika Bellomi (Fraglia Vela Riva), coached by Marcello Meringolo had to be satisfied with the fifth place.

The organization of the Optimist European Team Racing Championships  for the years 2018 and 2019 has been re-assigned to the Associazione Vela Lago di Ledro, thus confirming the high level of the regatta,s the skill of the organization and the collaboration of the entire community of Valle di Ledro.

Here the results


We welcomed yesterday the best sixteen Optimist teams representing their own country, they paraded through the streets of Pieve di Ledro, preceded by the Gruppo Sbandieratori Città di Feltre, by the political and sporting authorities who greeted athletes in Müllheim Square, where the European President of the Optimist Class Carmen Carso officially opened the Championship.

A greeting to all athletes and the Community of Ledro on behalf of the Italian Sailing Federation was brought by President Francesco Ettorre.

After the oaths on behalf of the athletes pronounced by Claudia Quaranta (athlete of the Italian Team) and Aristotelis Stamatiadis (representative of the Greek Team) and judges by Diego Yubero (Chief Umpire of the European Championship) and Filip Moczorodynski who said to act 1n a correct and sporting way throughout the championship, there was a show of Gruppo Sbandieratori Città di Feltre and during the evening we had a pleasure to listen to the music of Roses Garden Trio Music.

Today teams started to fight by completing 80 matches, that means more than half the round robin.

Right now the ranking is leading by France, followed by Sweden and Poland.

The present teams (in alphabetical order): Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Norway, Holland, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey


All the photos here